Enjoy a nostalgic step back into life in America 100 years ago by stepping in the door of the Brick Store.
The "Cracker Barrel" flavor still prevails in this unique general store that continues to carry on the traditions of the early 1800's in this delightful unspoiled region of the upper Connecticut River Valley of Northern New England.
Outside see the iron bars on the shutter's and doors... used to lock out the "the boys" when they got too rowdy.
In the rear of the building you'll see how the brick exterior served as a billboard for the passing trains. The ointments and liniments advertised, as well as other "snake oil" remedies, were a thriving cottage industry.
Morrison's English Liniment and Lady Poor's Ointment were made in the building next to the store.....now the gift shop.
The Covered Bridge Capitol of New England
Discover right here in the little town of Bath, New Hampshire 2 picturesque operating covered bridges
All three Covered Bridges are Registered Historic Landmarks.
The Bath Village Covered Bridge is known as the "kissin" bridge for reasons that shouldn't be hard to figure out. We are assured by several "locals" who make it their business to know such things, that it is a name well earned.
Why were Wooden Bridges Covered? Some of the folks say it was so they looked like barns so the horses wouldn't get skittish, or that the roof kept demons out, or, the snow off the road. Well, the real reason was to protect the timbers from rotting from the rain.
In the winter the wagons were put away and the horse drawn sleighs came out. This gave the road agent his toughest winter job. Keeping a good snow cover "in the bridge", so the sleighs could glide through.... Times have changed!
|Copyright © 2017 Twin River Campground - All rights reserved.|